Uncategorized

  • i love my mom.

    When i got back home from a fun, but insanely flaky weekend in tokyo...
    i got this email from my mom that made me want to cry:

    "Wow, you are so grown up within a year. I miss the old you but i like the
    new you. I think that is every parent's ultimate goal to see that their
    children being independent and being able to defend themselves.
    Have fun in Japan..."

    there's a bit more, but i don't think i should share it with the world.

    sometimes, my mom's painfully blunt honesty sucks, but i always appreciate the fact that i'll never get any fake b.s. from her.  just makes those rare occasions when i do receive positive statements that much more meaningful. 

  • so much to celebrate

    happy 23rd, casey!
    you baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaby.

    congratulations and welcome to JET, lisa.
    i'm so excited to see you in Japan! 

  • yet another adventure in tokyo...

    so it's 4:33am and i'm at a manga kisa (internet cafe).

    the night started off well.  i went to dinner with jonathan & julie to celebrate jonathan's belated birthday.  then, we headed to Nuts to go clubbing.  it turned out to be hiphop music and only 1000yen for the ladies.  the music was great and we all had a good time.  at about 3am~ish, we all headed out...

    julie, prashant, and i were supposed to stay with friends, but they were all outta town and we hadn't book a hotel, so we opted for the next cheapest stay: manga kisa.  on the way to the manga kisa, we stopped to grab my luggage from one of the shibuya station lockers... BUT we found that the gates were closed.   FUCK.  all my stuff for the night/week was in my luggage, which was in the locker, which was closed for the night.  great.  we finally found a crack, where i could crawl in, so julie told me to just grab my locker key, crawl in, and grab my luggage.  fine.  great.  i reached into my bag to grab my coin purse (into which i had put my locker key) just to find that my locker key was no longer there.  FUCK. FUCK. FUCK.

    now, i'm sitting in a manga kisa in my dirty, smokey clothes with no luggage.  and i have NO idea where my locker key is.

    fucking hell.  i did it again.

  • my mom is so loving.

    here's an email i just received from her:

    "I found a great job for you/doe
    doe/yen

    JUDY AWANA
    *********************************************
    INTER-ORIENT SERVICES"


  • another priceless yumi-ism

    yumi: these boys are so cute
    yumi: then they graduate hs and turn into girls


    delicious!
  • what??

    so i'm studying for my final clair test and i come across this dialogue:

        Mori: Tomorrow is Mr. Smith's farewell party.  Please be sure to come...
        ...
        Tanabe:  We had gotten so close, so it's a shame (that Mr. Smith is leaving).
        Mori: You're right.  We are planning to give him an easy-to-use Japanese dictionary from all of us.

    what the...? 
    i duno if the subtleties in the japanese language somehow get lost in the english translation, but that seems like one whack-ass shift in topics.

  • damn

    four dance classes a week.
    my life is good. 

  • HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHA.

     i just got another care package from my parents
    and they sent me...

    freshly made corn tortillas (LA May 19 07 B 05:08)!!! (i was laughing so hard when i saw these)
    tampax pearl tampons
    and
    gingko biloba!

    amongst other wonderful things.

    sure, these seem like non-extraordinary items, but when you can't get them in japan...
    they become gold.
    next on my list is unsweetened, toasted whole wheat cheerios. 
    :/ good, plain cereal just doesn't exist in this country. 

    i love my parents. 

  • ladies & gentlemen...

    i give you...
    my good friend ryan kim:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Zjf_C9Hoeo

    *special thanks to miri for the link to her video.

  • cuz it's just too damn good...

    i have to copy & paste yumi's post on the past 2 weekends.
    i don't think i can out-do it.
    good job, girl.
    arigato but gomen for stealing your entry:

    Sunday, May 20, 2007
     

    "Got a good time on a party!?"

    Awesome.

    So
    since I went up to Gunma last weekend to party with Liv and her hip
    hoppin', house-dancin' boys...she returned the favor and came out to
    Tokyo for Ryo's party. Last weekends hilarity continued to this
    weekend, thanks in part to the ever oblivious hide.
    Met up with
    Liv and we had a romantic dinner for two with our (apparently really
    bad) kebabs (but I was too hungry to notice the taste) in some koban
    tent thing on the sidewalk in omotesando. Sure there was yellow "keep
    out" tape..but we couldn't read the kanji. Oh to be foreign and
    retarded.
    The club was so much fun. I think I've become a fan of
    house. Ryo's set was the best of the night =). But..the big star was
    Hide. He had quite an audience of girls and more than a few boys. One
    of which...took more than enough pictures (hehe). It was such a fun
    night...good crowd. I'm happy for Ryo..he did such a good job
    organizing and spinnin'. Good times. The only crappy incident of the
    night/morning...losing my cell phone in a taxi. It's like finding a
    needle in a haystack. At least we narrowed the taxi down to being
    black...or blue. After calling 5 different companies, I gave up and
    bought a new one. My 4th phone and something tells me it won't be my
    last.
    Went to the BAPE Cafe...good food, cute restaurant. I felt
    like I was in LA again. If only "troop LA" were here they would love it
    too.

    ..and this is for Liv because only she will find the humor in it.
    R-"Hey, nice to meet you man, I hear you're a dancer..."
    H-"Hi"...and then the most scared look.
    me-"No, no, he's Japanese, speak to him in Japanese. Speak to him in Japanese!"
    R-"Oh what the fuck.."
    H-(a look of such relief)
    ...I bet the whole time he was thinking..."I just wanna dance!"

      Posted 5/20/2007 10:55 PM -